Gravitational-wave Excellence through Alliance Training (GrEAT) Network with China

The Gravitational-wave Excellence through Alliance Training (GrEAT) Network with China is an STFC funded network which aims to build links between UK-China based on gravitational wave research so as to strengthen capacity for gravitational wave research in China. The network brings together several Chinese and UK universities to address challenges described by the following work packages (WP).

Future projects to collaborate

WP1 Economic growth and innovation

WP1 This work package will focus on identifying potential industrial and commercial partners in China for GW technology and expertise exploitation. Activities will include organising workshops where UK GW teams can showcase their technologies to potential industry partners in China. Leads: Junwei Cao, Des Gibson

WP2: Quality education and public outreach

WP2 This work package will, in collaboration with our Chinese partners, provide high-quality training for early-career researchers on the planning and delivery of outreach on gravitational-wave astronomy. We will develop resources suitable for both formal and informal learners. Leads: Martin Hendry, Zong-Hong Zhu

WP3: Big Data analysis and modelling

WP3 This work package will provide training on data analysis and numerical modelling that will have applications to gravitational wave research and beyond. Leads: Nils Andersson, Xilong Fan, Patrick Sutton

WP4: Ultra-high precision measurement technology and instrumentation

WP4 This work package will build the necessary skill base to develop/fabricate/install and innovate future detector technologies. It will also provide support to grow the necessary expertise for a future GW detector in China. Leads: Giles Hammond, Stuart Reid, Baoqing Sun

WP5: Space GW detectors

WP5 This work package will support PhD students and early career researchers from Chinese institutions working on space GW detectors to train in the UK in an effort to define the issues and specific needs for their project, thereby fostering long-term collaborative links between the UK and China. Leads: Tim Sumner, Alberto Vecchio, Zebing Zhou

The research teams

involved in the GrEAT Network with China and their corresponding interests are listed below.

Last Name First Name University email WP1 WP2 WP3 WP4 WP5
Andersson Nils University of Southampton N.A.Andersson@SOTON.AC.UK
Barak Leor University of Southampton L.Barack@southampton.ac.uk
Cao Junwei Tsinghua University jcao@mail.tsinghua.edu.cn
Fan Xilong Hubei University of Education fanxilong@outlook.com
Freise Andreas University of Birmingham adf@STAR.SR.BHAM.AC.UK
Gibson Des University of West of Scotland Des.Gibson@uws.ac.uk
Hammond Giles University of Glasgow Giles.Hammond@glasgow.ac.uk
Hendry Martin University of Glasgow Martin.Hendry@glasgow.ac.uk
Heng Ik Siong University of Glasgow ik.heng@glasgow.ac.uk
Hollington Daniel Imperial College London d.hollington@imperial.ac.uk
Hu Yi-Ming Sun Yat-sen University yimingleon@gmail.com
Jones Ian University of Southampton D.I.Jones@soton.ac.uk
Mei Jianwei Sun Yat-sen University meijw@sysu.edu.cn
Miao Haixing University of Birmingham haixing@star.sr.bham.ac.uk
Reid Stuart Strathclyde University stuart.reid@strath.ac.uk
Sumner Tim Imperial College London t.sumner@imperial.ac.uk
Song Shigeng University of West of Scotland Shigeng.Song@uws.ac.uk
Sun Baoqing Shandong University baoqing.sun@SDU.EDU.CN
Wang Yan Huazhong University of Science and Technology ywang12@hust.edu.cn
Ye XianJi Sun Yat-sen University qinxuan9@mail.sysu.edu.cn
Zhang Jinlong Tongji University jinlong@tongji.edu.cn
Zhou Zebing Huazhong University of Science and Technology zhouzb@hust.edu.cn
Zhu Zong-Hong Beijing Normal University zhuzh@bnu.edu.cn

Links

 
/export0/wikidata/pages/great_network/start.txt · Last modified: 2019/06/19 12:47 by mariela.masso
 
Except where otherwise noted, content on this wiki is licensed under the following license: CC Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported
Recent changes RSS feed Donate Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0 Valid CSS Driven by DokuWiki